Recycle Bin provides a preventive measure when you delete a file or folder from all versions of Windows, including Windows 11/10/8/7. When you delete any file or folder from your computer, Windows moves this file or folder to Recycle Bin. After that, you see that Recycle Bin icon will show filled from empty. You can restore these files from Recycle Bin when you want.
If you have multiple hard drives, partitions, or an external hard drive connected to your PC, each location will have its own $Recycle.Bin and Recycle Bin settings. Files deleted from removable drives are permanently deleted Because removable devices like USB flash drives and memory cards will not have Recycle Bin.
Depending on the partition size, only five to fifteen percent of space is reserved for storing deleted files or folders. Windows will start erasing the oldest files to make room to welcome new deletions, reducing the number of files you can recover.
You can increase the maximum storage for the Recycle Bin if you would like to keep all your deleted files in the Recycle Bin as a shelter.
Moreover, decreasing the maximum allocated size for Recycle Bin is possible if you run out of storage space. It is also possible to adjust the settings to change the total storage size to increase or decrease the number of files you can store, remove files neglecting the Recycle Bin, and even add a confirmation dialog to prevent accidental deletions.
This article will show you how to manage the Recycle Bin settings to change the maximum hard drive space to store deleted files. You will also learn to remove files or folders immediately after deletion and steps to enable the confirmation dialog to prevent accidental deletions by reading this risewindows post:
How to Increase or Decrease Recycle Bin Storage Settings on Windows 11/10/8/7?
Step 1: Right-click the Recycle Bin icon and select the
Step 2: Select the Recycle Bin location you want to configure. After that, Select the
For example, if you have a 100 GB partition and want to set Recycle Bin to use 5GB of space, you need to specify 5120 megabytes because 1 GB equals 1024 megabytes.
Quick note: If you have multiple partitions on your Windows PC and want to adjust the storage for Recycle Bin, You have to perform the above steps for all partitions individually.
Step 3: After that, click on the
When done with the above steps, the Recycle Bin will store more or fewer deleted files or folders on the selected partition, depending on your configuration.
Quick Note: Each partition of the internal hard disk configured on your machine has its own Recycle Bin; moreover, removable drives like SD cards and USB flash drives do not have, which means once you delete files from portable devices, they will be erased permanently. In that case, you need to recover that deleted data using recovery software to retrieve deleted files from portable devices.
How to Delete Files directly without sending them to Recycle Bin?
If you want to delete files or folders directly without sending them to Recycle Bin, then follow the below-given steps to configure the Recycle Bin:
Step 1: You need to right-click on the Recycle Bin icon and select the
Step 2: Select the Recycle Bin Location you want to configure.
Step 3: Select the option “Do not move the files to Recycle Bin. Remove files immediately when deleted” option from the “Settings for the selected location.”
Step 4: After that, click on the
Suppose you have multiple partitions, then repeat this step.
When you complete the above steps, deleted files/folders will not be stored on the Recycle Bin anymore, which means once you delete a file or folder, it will be deleted permanently from your PC.
Quick Note: You can also apply Shift + Del/Delete keyboard shortcut keys after selecting the file or folder to permanently delete the file or folder from your Windows 11/10/8.1/8/7 PC.
How to Display a Confirmation Dialog before Deleting Files on Windows 11/10/8/7?
If you want to display a confirmation dialog box before deleting the file and sending them to the Recycle Bin, use the below-given steps:
Step 1: Now, right-click on the Recycle Bin icon, and select the
Step 2: After that, select the Recycle Bin location that you want to configure.
Step 3: Check the option “Display delete confirmation dialog.”
Quick Note: If you uncheck the option “Display delete confirmation dialog” when you delete a file or folder, the confirmation dialog box will not appear. Depending upon the Recycle Bin configuration, it will be moved without prompt to Recycle Bin or permanently deleted from your PC.
Step 4: Click the
Step 5: Click on the
When you complete the above steps, you will get a confirmation dialog every time you delete a file/folder before sending them to the Recycle Bin.
Do not forget to share this post.