How to Enable or Disable Remember Window Locations on Multiple Displays on Windows 11?

Using more than two tabs at a time has become a modern feature of Windows 11. The primary issue with Windows 10 multi-window feature was losing the position of tabs. Rapid Hot Plug Detect interference results in the misarrangement of tabs while the computer is in sleep mode.

Windows 11 System Requirements are slightly different. That is because Microsoft has added several new features to Windows 11 operating system. One of them will help your computer remember window locations based on the monitor connection.

This risewindows post will guide you on enabling and disabling the Remember window location feature on Windows 11.

How to Turn On Remember Window Locations on Multiple Displays on Windows 11?

To configure your Windows 11 to remember apps or folders’ location on multiple displays, perform the following steps:-

Step 1. Firstly, open the Settings app by pressing Windows + I keys.

Settings-System-1 (5)

Step 2. Then, select the system category in the left sidebar.

Step 3. Now, click on the Display tab on the right side.

Settings-System-Display

Step 4. Next, under the “Scale & layout” section, click the Multiple displays header to expand it.

Step 5. After that, check the option, “Remember window location based on monitor connection.”

While you’re on the Settings > System > Display page, you can check the option “Minimize windows when a monitor is disconnected” under the “Multiple displays” section.

Once you complete the above steps, the next time you open an app or folder, Windows 11 will remember its last opened position on the monitor.

How to Turn Off Multiple Displays Settings on Windows 11?

To prevent the system from remembering the opened windows locations, use the following steps:-

Step 1. Firstly, open the Settings app by pressing Windows + I keys.

Settings-System-1

Step 2. Now, select the system category in the left sidebar.

Step 3. Then, click on the Display tab on the right side.

Settings-System-Display

Step 4. Next, under the “Scale & layout” section, click the Multiple displays header to expand it.

Step 5. After that, uncheck the options, “Remember window location based on monitor connection” and “Minimize windows when a monitor is disconnected.”

Once you complete the above steps, you can close the setting app.

That’s it for the article.

Good luck & Keep growing with risewindows, guys.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: