How to Enable Delete Confirmation Message on Windows 11?

Windows 11 doesn’t display a delete confirmation dialog message when you delete a file. Instead, the file or folder is sent immediately to the Recycle Bin. It seems like a quicker way to delete your files, but it is not a perfect method. It may happen that you accidentally move something to the trash.

Fortunately, Windows 11 includes a feature you can configure, which will bring up a delete confirmation dialog. Some users may prefer these confirmation dialogs to avoid deleting files or folders accidentally. It is a second safeguard that can be enabled, with the Recycle Bin being the first.

If you want to enable the Delete confirmation dialog on your Windows 11 PC, this risewindows article will help you do it. It is straightforward.

How to Enable Delete Confirmation Dialog in Windows 11?

Follow the below-mentioned steps to enable the Delete confirmation dialog in Windows 11:-

Step 1. Right-click the Recycle Bin icon on the Windows 11 Desktop and select the Properties option.

Step 2. Then, Recycle Bin Properties window will appear. After that, select a drive in the “General” tab and then check the checkbox “Display delete confirmation dialog.”

Step 3. Click on the Apply button.

Step 4. At last, press the OK button to exit from the Recycle Bin Properties window.

If you have completed all steps, when you try to delete a file or folder, Windows 11 PC will display a delete confirmation dialog box.

It will allow you to change your mind or verify and confirm that you want to move something to the Recycle Bin. Click Yes to delete or No if you change your mind.

Remember that this doesn’t permanently delete the file; it just moves it to the Recycle Bin for storage before you delete it.

Tips: If you don’t want to send any file or folder to Recycle Bin, select the item and press Shift + Delete keys on the keyboard. The file or folder which you will delete, you can not restore from the Recycle Bin.

How to Delete a File or Folder on Windows 11?

Here, please right-click on the file or folder you want to delete and click the Delete icon to remove it. You will see the same if you have enabled the delete confirmation dialogue. Then, you need to click the Yes button.

After that, select the file or folder you want to delete and press the Delete key from the keyboard.

If you want to delete a file or folder permanently, select it and press the Shift + Delete keys on the keyboard. The file or folder is deleted permanently, so you can not recover it from the Recycle Bin. However, one can still get it back using a third-party recovery tool.

I hope this article has been informative to you.

That’s it and Good luck.!!!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: