How to Delete System Restore Points on Windows 11?

In Windows 11, Microsoft offers System Restore Point, which is useful when you want to revert your system to an earlier state in case you are facing any issues with the operating system. So, this tool can quickly roll back the operating system to a previous functional state.

If your computer is in a good state and you’re running low on disk space, you can delete old Windows restore points to free up some disk space. A single restore point can take around 0.6GB of space on your hard disk, and the system can have multiple restore points.

If you want to delete System Restore Points on Windows 11, this risewindows post will show you how to do so. It is possible to remove all System Restore points on Windows 11 computers using a step-by-step guide.

How to Delete a Restore Point on Windows 11?

If you are running out of storage and you want to clean up ALL the old system restore points in Windows 11, do the following recommended steps:-

Step 1. Firstly, open the Settings app by pressing Windows + I keys on the keyboard.

Step 2. When the Setting app opens, click the System category in the left side pane of Windows Settings.

Step 3. After that, select the About tile on the right pane of the System.

Step 4. Next, when you’re at the “About settings” page, click on the link System protection to open the “System Properties” window.

Step 5. When the “System Properties” window appears, select the System Protection tab.

Step 6. Now, select the drive from which you want to delete the system restore point and click the Configure button.

Step 7. At last, If you want to free up the whole storage, click the Delete button.

After you follow the above steps, all the system restore points for that particular drive will be deleted.

Suppose you are deleting system restore points to free up storage space. You can also limit the storage space occupied by the system restore points by adjusting the “Max Usage” value in the System Protection tab in the System Properties window. In such a case, older system restore points will be deleted first when the Max Usage limit hits.

Keep learning & Be safe, guys.!!!

That’s it.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: